Origami – Karaoke 2013


This album follows on from Origami's "The Blues of Joy" which showed their willingness to take on contemporary songs that fit their musical approach – this time though, the selection is an all Australian one. Reinterpreting the songs of Gotye, Nick Cave, Colin Hay, INXS, Silverchair, The Reels, Hello Satellites and The Parrots, the focus has been to highlight the compositional side of these tunes, rather than the lyrical content, though at times that has also informed the arrangements.


released 11 February 2013
Hearts a Mess – Wally De Backer/Irving Burgie/William Attaway
Overkill – Colin Hay
No Time At All – Graeme Hodge
Quasimodo's Dream – Dave Mason
Straight Lines – Daniel Johns/Julian Hamilton
Streets of Forbes – traditional
Out There – Eva Popov
The Mercy Seat – Nick Cave
Never Tear Us Apart – Andrew Farriss/Michael Hutchence
Somebody That I Used To Know – Wally De Backer/Luiz Bonfa

Adam Simmons – alto sax
Howard Cairns – double bass
Anthony Baker – drums

All arrangements by Adam Simmons and Origami

Adam is a Temby artist and performs exclusively on a Vintage Temby alto saxophone

Recorded by Myles Mumford, at Head Gap, 27-29 June 2012
Mastered by Adam Dempsey, Deluxe Mastering

Design by Celsius Design
Spiral data tato design by Philip Chapman-Bell

For instructions for folding the Spiral Data Tato log onto: